Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Share Your Reviews

The Challenge

Your host is Becky of Becky's Book Reviews.

Read books by authors and/or illustrators that have won a Hans Christian Andersen Award. See the list of winners below. Reviews will be submitted via Mr. Linky (see above).

How many books? 4-8 is what I'd recommend as a "challenge" goal. More is welcome. Always. But if you can only squeeze three in...well, I won't turn you away. If you think you might be pressed for time, you might have two authors and two illustrators as your goal. The illustrated books will almost by necessity be shorter--picture books for example--although that isn't always the case.

The time frame of the challenge: May 1, 2008 through May 1, 2009. A full year of reading.

Exception: If you've read a qualifying book after January 1, 2008. Then you may count it towards the challenge. (A meaning one or two at the very most.)

No list is necessary. But if you want to make one, I won't stop you. If you do make one, share the link (or the list) in the comments. Once you've made one--if you've made one--feel free to change it at any time.

No blog is necessary to participate.

Audio books are okay.

Overlaps with other challenges are fine.

To sign up leave a comment.

The Winners

Hans Christian Andersen Award for Writing 1956–2008

1956 Eleanor Farjeon (UK)

1958 Astrid Lindgren (Sweden)

1960 Erich Kästner (Germany)

1962 Meindert DeJong (USA)

1964 René Guillot (France)

1966 Tove Jansson (Finland)

1968 James Krüss (Germany)

José Maria Sanchez-Silva (Spain)

1970 Gianni Rodari (Italy)

1972 Scott O'Dell (USA)

1974 Maria Gripe (Sweden)

1976 Cecil Bødker (Denmark)

1978 Paula Fox (USA)

1980 Bohumil Riha (Czechoslovakia)

1982 Lygia Bojunga Nunes (Brazil)

1984 Christine Nöstlinger (Austria)

1986 Patricia Wrightson (Australia)

1988 Annie M. G. Schmidt (Netherlands)

1990 Tormod Haugen (Norway)

1992 Virginia Hamilton (USA)

1994 Michio Mado (Japan)

1996 Uri Orlev (Israel)

1998 Katherine Paterson (USA)

2000 Ana Maria Machado (Brazil)

2002 Aidan Chambers (UK)

2004 Martin Waddell (Ireland)

2006 Margaret Mahy (New Zealand)

2008 Jürg Schubiger (Switzerland)

Hans Christian Andersen Award for Illustration 1966–2008

1966 Alois Carigiet (Switzerland)

1968 Jirí Trnka (Czechoslovakia)

1970 Maurice Sendak (USA)

1972 Ib Spang Olsen (Denmark)

1974 Farshid Mesghali (Iran)

1976 Tatjana Mawrina (USSR)

1978 Svend Otto S. (Denmark)

1980 Suekichi Akaba (Japan)

1982 Zbigniew Rychlicki (Poland)

1984 Mitsumasa Anno (Japan)

1986 Robert Ingpen (Australia)

1988 Dusan Kállay (Czechoslovakia)

1990 Lisbeth Zwerger (Austria)

1992 Kveta Pacovská (Czech Republic)

1994 Jörg Müller (Switzerland)

1996 Klaus Ensikat (Germany)

1998 Tomi Ungerer (France)

2000 Anthony Browne (UK)

2002 Quentin Blake (UK)

2004 Max Velthuijs (The Netherlands)

2006 Wolf Erlbruch (Germany)

2008 Roberto Innocenti (Italy)

About the Awards

This is all a direct quote from their website.

Every other year IBBY presents the Hans Christian Andersen Awards to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature.

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children's books. Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark is the Patron of the Andersen Awards.

The nominations are made by the National Sections of IBBY and the recipients are selected by a distinguished international jury of children's literature specialists.

The Author's Award has been given since 1956 and the Illustrator's Award since 1966. The Award consists of a gold medal and a diploma, presented at a festive ceremony during the biennial IBBY Congress.

Becky's List for the Hans Christian Andersen Award Reading Challenge

My preliminary list:

Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren

Emil and the Detectives by Erich Kastner

Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell

The Hawk That Dare Not Hunt by Scott O'Dell

Postcards From No Man's Land by Aidan Chambers

I'll probably choose one or two illustrators as well. But I don't know which I'll choose at the moment. I'll probably have at least a few Martin Waddell's because I love him. I do. Especially Once There Were Giants and When The Teddy Bears Came.